Trade Policy

China Dropped Tariffs to Zero on 1,344 Farm and Food Lines for 20 African Countries

The 2026 zero-tariff measure names its countries exactly and its tariff lines exactly: 1,344 lines across HS chapters 01 to 22, all at zero, from 1 May 2026 to 30 April 2028. Two of Africa's largest suppliers are not on the list, and the list is the thing that decides.

Oct 12, 2026 · 12 min read · By V · For Importers & buyers

AI Summary

China set the tariff to zero on 1,344 farm and food lines for 20 named African countries, from 1 May 2026 to 30 April 2028. The annex names the countries exactly and lists every line, and all 1,344 are at zero across HS chapters 01 to 22 — fish, oil seeds, vegetables, fruit, coffee, tea and cocoa among them. Two of Africa’s larger suppliers are not on the list, and the list is what decides.

What happened

On 28 April 2026 the Customs Tariff Commission published Announcement No. 5 of 2026, applying a zero tariff from 1 May 2026 to 30 April 2028 for 20 African countries that have diplomatic relations with China and are not least-developed countries. The announcement itself is four sentences long and puts everything that matters in an annex. The annex is 147 pages.

I read the annex rather than the summary, and it says three things the announcement does not.

What the annex establishes Figure
Tariff lines carrying a preferential rate 1,344
Lines whose rate is zero 1,344 — there is no other rate in the document
HS chapters covered 22, running 01 to 22 with no gap
Largest chapter 03, fish and crustaceans, 300 lines
Next largest 12, oil seeds, 130 lines; 07, vegetables, 124; 20, prepared fruit and vegetables, 105; 08, fruit and nuts, 94
Smallest 22, beverages and spirits, 5 lines

The 20 countries, exactly as the annex lists them: Algeria, Botswana, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Congo (Brazzaville), Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Libya, Mauritius, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Seychelles, South Africa, Tunisia, Zimbabwe.

Two absences are the point. Ethiopia and Tanzania are not on the list, and neither is any other least-developed country — the measure is explicitly for countries that are not least-developed, because those already have a separate arrangement. Nigeria and South Africa are on it; Angola and Sudan are not. A supplier in Nairobi ships at zero. A supplier in Dar es Salaam does not, and the goods are the same goods.

Least-developed country status, as China applies it here — a United Nations designation, separate from the African Continental Free Trade Area and separate from any bilateral agreement. The announcement defines the eligible group by what it excludes: African states with diplomatic relations that do not hold that designation. So the qualifying question for a supplier is not “are you in Africa” but “which of these two lists is your country on”, and the annex answers it by naming all 20.

Why now

Three instruments now govern African exports to China, and only one of them is new.

Announcement No. 5 of 2026 is the measure in question: blanket zero, 1,344 lines, 20 countries, two years. Announcement No. 4 of 2026, dated 27 March 2026, applies agreement rates to certain imports from the Republic of the Congo from 1 April 2026 under the early-harvest arrangement of a common development economic partnership — a bilateral instrument, one country, its own schedule. And the least-developed-country arrangement runs in parallel for the states that hold that designation.

The timing is what makes this worth reading now, and it is not the start date. The measure ends on 30 April 2028. A concession with a 24-month term changes what a supply contract can promise: an offtake agreement written for five years prices a tariff that expires in the third year, and a buyer planning a processing line against zero-duty feedstock is planning against a window that closes on a date already fixed.

And the coverage tells you what the measure is for. Chapters 01 to 22 are the farm, fishery and food chapters. Nothing in the concession is a manufactured good, a mineral or a fuel. So the measure is aimed squarely at agricultural and food exports, and it leaves every other African export to China on its ordinary rate.

So what

Zero is not a number a buyer can put on an invoice until it is set against the rate it replaces. The saving is the standard rate on the same line, and the annex does not state it.

The arithmetic is a multiplication. Take a consignment value and a standard rate, and the saving follows:

Consignment value If the standard rate is 8% If it is 15% If it is 25%
$100,000 $8,000 $15,000 $25,000
$500,000 $40,000 $75,000 $125,000
$2,000,000 $160,000 $300,000 $500,000

The standard rate is a reader input here, and that is deliberate. I did not reach China’s current import tariff schedule to read the standard rate for these lines; the tariff commission’s index of schedules returned a page with no attachment. Stating 8 or 15 per cent as the rate for coffee, or for frozen shrimp, would be a figure with no document behind it. The zero is published. The rate you are comparing it to is yours to substitute, and the multiplication is the same either way.

Three things decide whether the zero actually applies:

  • The country, not the goods. Frozen shrimp from Mozambique pays the ordinary rate and frozen shrimp from Namibia pays zero. The annex names countries; it does not describe a region.
  • The origin rule, which the annex does not contain. A preferential rate is claimed, not applied automatically, and claiming it needs a certificate of origin and a consignment that satisfies the applicable origin criteria. A South African processor importing Namibian fish and re-exporting it is a different consignment from a Namibian one, and the annex is silent on that.
  • The date. Goods entered on or before 30 April 2028 are inside the window. What happens after it is not stated in this instrument, and a two-year term is short enough that the answer matters to anyone signing a longer contract.

How confident

Confirmed. The 20-country list, the 1,344 tariff lines, the zero rate on every line, the 22 chapters covered, the per-chapter counts, the 1 May 2026 start and the 30 April 2028 end are read from the annex to Announcement No. 5 of 2026, which I downloaded and parsed as a table rather than from the stripped text. The chapter numbering follows the standard HS nomenclature. Announcement No. 4 of 2026 and its 1 April 2026 effective date for the Republic of the Congo are from the same issuing authority.

Inferred. My reading of the measure’s purpose — that it targets agricultural and food exports because the annex covers only chapters 01 to 22 — is an inference from the scope, not a stated objective. The annex lists a sequence of 1,344 rows numbered to 1,377, and I have assumed the gaps are lines that the extractor did not capture or that the schedule intentionally omits rather than a defect in the list; I did not reconcile the missing 33 sequence numbers line by line. The three factors I give as decisive for claiming the preference — country, origin, date — are mine, drawn from how preferential rates work generally rather than from text in this instrument.

What would change my mind. If China’s standard rates for these chapters are low — and for some primary commodities they are — then the saving is real but small, and the measure is closer to a rounding than to the concession the headline suggests; a reader with the schedule should substitute the actual rate and the table above will show it. If the gaps in the sequence numbers correspond to lines that carry a non-zero rate in the version circulated to customs, then “every rate is zero” is a statement about the annex I read rather than about the measure, and that distinction matters. And if the term is extended before April 2028, the contract-length argument in this article loses its force, though the coverage does not change.

Also read: The EU Registered Your Cellulose Ether Imports, and the Duty Comes Later

For you

  • Exporters in the 20 listed countries shipping farm or food goods: the concession covers chapters 01 to 22 and nothing else. If your product is outside those chapters, this instrument does not touch it, and the least-developed-country arrangement or a bilateral agreement is where to look instead. The scope is the first thing to check, before the paperwork.
  • Exporters in African countries that are not on the list: the difference is your country’s status, not your product. Ethiopia, Tanzania, Angola and Sudan are absent. A competitor shipping the identical goods from Nairobi or Accra now clears at zero while you do not, and that gap is a market-access question rather than a pricing one — the rate cannot be negotiated away.
  • Anyone signing a supply contract past 2028: the measure expires on 30 April 2028. Price the third year honestly rather than extrapolating the first two.
  • Buyers sourcing from Africa into China: this is a direct cost line, and it is the kind that changes a sourcing decision rather than a margin. Where a supplier’s country sits on the list is now part of their quotation, and it is worth asking for in writing rather than assuming from the flag on the invoice.
  • Anyone modelling a non-standard customs treatment: a preferential rate and a simplified regime look similar from the invoice and behave differently at the border. The European Union’s flat per-item charge on low-value consignments is the other shape of the same problem — see what it costs per item — and neither is applied unless the entry says so.
  • Anyone modelling the cost of a preferential claim: the rate is only the first component. The certificate and the origin criteria are the rest, and where the goods cross a border before export, the treatment of that leg decides the claim. For the same principle applied to a different instrument, the ACFTA and RCEP origin-data change is the useful comparison.

The data point

Data point 1,344 tariff lines, 22 chapters, one rate: zero. The annex to Announcement No. 5 of 2026 contains no other number in its rate column. And the concession covers chapters 01 to 22 only — so it is a food and agriculture measure, with a 30 April 2028 expiry already set.

FAQ

Which countries get the zero tariff?

Twenty, named in the annex: Algeria, Botswana, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Congo (Brazzaville), Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Libya, Mauritius, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Seychelles, South Africa, Tunisia and Zimbabwe. The announcement defines the group as African countries with diplomatic relations with China that are not least-developed countries, and the annex names them rather than describing them. That distinction is the one to rely on when a supplier’s eligibility is in question: the definition tells you the principle, and the list tells you the answer.

Which products are covered?

1,344 tariff lines across HS chapters 01 to 22 — live animals, meat, fish, dairy, vegetables, fruit, coffee, tea, spices, cereals, oil seeds, fats, prepared foods and beverages. There is no manufactured good, mineral or fuel anywhere in the concession. The largest chapter is fish and crustaceans at 300 lines, followed by oil seeds at 130, edible vegetables at 124 and prepared fruit and vegetables at 105. If your product sits outside chapters 01 to 22, this measure does not touch it and the instrument to look at is a different one.

How much does it save?

The saving is the standard rate that the zero replaces, so it cannot be stated without knowing that rate. On a $100,000 consignment the saving is $8,000 if the standard rate is 8 per cent, $15,000 at 15 per cent and $25,000 at 25 per cent. The zero is published in the annex and the rate you are comparing it against is not, which is why the table on this page is a multiplication rather than an answer. Substitute your own line’s standard rate and your own consignment value and the figure is yours.

Does the zero apply automatically?

No. A preferential rate is claimed, and claiming it requires a certificate of origin and a consignment that satisfies the applicable origin criteria. The annex names countries and lists lines; it does not contain the origin rule, so the country of the exporter and the origin of the goods remain two separate questions, and a consignment that merely passes through a listed country is not the same as one originating there. The origin document itself now has a deadline attached under a separate measure — see the electronic origin-data change for what that requires from 1 December 2026.

When does it end?

The measure runs from 1 May 2026 to 30 April 2028 inclusive, which is a two-year window rather than a permanent concession, and what follows it is not stated in Announcement No. 5 of 2026. For anyone writing a supply or offtake agreement that extends past April 2028, the third year prices a tariff this instrument does not fix, which is a different assumption from the first two. A concession with a fixed end date is also a different commercial object from a standing preference — it can be sold into a contract, but only for part of one.

How we calculated this

The counts come from parsing the annex as a table — sequence number, tariff code, description, rate — rather than from reading its text, because the text of a 147-page schedule cannot be counted reliably by eye.

row shape in the annex:
  <sequence> TAB <8-digit code> TAB <description> TAB <rate>

parsed rows                    1,344
distinct rates present         1  (zero)
lines above zero               0
distinct HS codes              1,344 (one line per code)
HS chapters                    01 .. 22, all 22 present
sequence numbers spanned       1 .. 1,377

saving on a consignment:
  saving = consignment value x standard rate
  $100,000 x 8%  = $8,000
  $100,000 x 15% = $15,000
  $100,000 x 25% = $25,000

term:
  start  1 May 2026
  end   30 April 2028
  length 24 months

Substitute the standard rate for your own tariff line, and the value of your own consignment. The zero is the published part; everything else follows from those two inputs.

The point

The announcement is four sentences and the substance is in a 147-page annex, which is why the headline travels and the coverage does not. Read the annex and the measure is narrower and more specific than “China opens its market to Africa”: 1,344 lines, all in the farm and food chapters, 20 named countries, and a term that ends on 30 April 2028.

For a supplier, the question is not whether the tariff is zero. It is whether your country is one of the twenty, whether your product is inside chapters 01 to 22, and whether the consignment can satisfy an origin rule that this instrument does not contain. Three answers, and two of them are in the annex.

No ads, no sponsors, no tracking

Every analysis on this site is free to read in full. There is no advertising network on it and no third-party analytics, which is why the only way it pays for the reading behind each figure is readers.

  • One email when a tracked change actually moves a per-unit cost
  • The figure, its source and the date on every number
  • Unsubscribe in one click, and the free tier never changes

Paid tiers are not open yet. See what they will include →

Sources

  • Customs Tariff Commission of the State Council, 国务院关税税则委员会关于对非洲建交国实施零关税举措的公告, Announcement No. 5 of 2026, dated 28 April 2026, applying a zero tariff from 1 May 2026 to 30 April 2028 to 20 African countries with diplomatic relations that are not least-developed countries, with the country list and tariff lines in an annex
  • Annex to Announcement No. 5 of 2026, 国别清单及税目税率表, 147 pages, containing the applicable-country list and 1,344 tariff lines with a preferential rate column; every rate in the annex is zero
  • Customs Tariff Commission of the State Council, Announcement No. 4 of 2026, dated 27 March 2026, applying agreement rates to certain imports originating in the Republic of the Congo from 1 April 2026 under the early-harvest arrangement
  • Chinese customs tariff nomenclature for the HS chapter headings used to describe the coverage

How this was made

Research and drafting are tool-assisted. Every figure is traced to a named primary source and checked against it, each article clears a structural review and an information-gain review before publication, and corrections are recorded in a dated note above. The review process is described on the about page.

Cite this analysis

Every figure here is traceable to a named document and a retrieval date. Reuse is welcome under CC BY 4.0— attribute V / Landed Math and link back to this page. No permission needed.

V. "China Dropped Tariffs to Zero on 1,344 Farm and Food Lines for 20 African Countries." Landed Math, 2026-10-12. Figures retrieved 2026-10-12. https://www.landedmath.com/blog/china-zero-tariff-20-african-countries-2026/
BibTeX
@misc{landedmathchinazerotariff20africancountries2026,
  author       = {V},
  title        = {China Dropped Tariffs to Zero on 1,344 Farm and Food Lines for 20 African Countries},
  howpublished = {Landed Math},
  year         = {2026},
  month        = {10},
  note         = {Figures retrieved 2026-10-12},
  url          = {https://www.landedmath.com/blog/china-zero-tariff-20-african-countries-2026/}
}
V
V

China Supply Chain Analyst, based in Shenzhen. Trade policy, platform rules and factory-level cost shifts, converted into landed cost for sellers in the US and EU and for importers across emerging markets. No agency, no sponsorship, no agenda.

Browse every topic → — each one gathers the analyses that share a subject, with the figures and their documents.